Lots of great things happening in the Cavern

I visited the cavern yesterday and discovered a book to the Great Zero Observation Room in my Bevin. I checked it out immediately, and started searching for the calibration markers. I got so caught up in it, I almost forgot some of my appointments on the surface. I have one more initial marker to go!

Laxman must have been busy, because in addition, I got the Cavern News Network bevin to be recognized as a public Bevin. I typed up a welcome screen, along with information about the opening of the Great Zero, and something else I will discuss later in this post. I realized I called the GZ Observation Room the Antechamber in my news post… a rookie mistake that I should have checked on before I wrote it… Blame it on my recent 16-hour days. If the imager had better editing features, I wouldn’t even be mentioning this mistake. Hopefully, people will visit the News bevin and send news along to me to be posted. We’ll see how it goes. I want to give enough information for people to know what’s going on, but not so much as to ruin the joy of discovery. but perhaps even mentioning the events spoils it for someone… There has to be a balance of information and mystery here. In this sense, I guess it’s not always about news, but is also a nudge to people in an “interesting” direction.

Additionally, I read about some discovery in Gahreesen… (read more for some possible spoilers) The descriptions weren’t too clear, so I went exploring myself. When I found it, I can honestly say it was something I had never seen before in D’ni. It looked like a small sparkle, a Sprite even, floating above a symbol carved into the floor. The floor symbol was the same as the “bridge” Relto Page that I found in Zandi’s fireplace. I walked up to the Sprite, and it bathed me in a warm light, scintillating between blue and yellow. Immediately after, my Relto Book glowed, informing me that some subtle change had been wrought there. When I returned to Relto, there was a new structure resting on the Spiral: A stone sculpture that looks something like a shell, with the Sprite resting inside. It was at the end of the first “spike mark” on the outer edge of the spiral. It has a red glyph on it, that looks something like the Chinese symbol for “center”, or as Vortmax pointed out, a D’ni numeral 1. Vortmax’s comment made me wonder immediately if the Bahro’s writing was the direct influence for D’ni characters…

Also talked with Ian, and he told me the Italian Explorers are loving the new content. The Cavern brings delight to Explorers of eery nation, race, and creed. That’s one of the reasons I love being down here!

~ by Kestr'l on January 18, 2007.

 
