Back after a long break…

I’ve been out of the Cavern for about a month, and coming back I was only able to find three things that were different than when I last visited. The DRC added Dereno, another Museum Age to the Museum. The Great Zero’s imager Relto page has been rediscovered. And probably most important of all, a link to the view of Kerath’s Arch has appeared in the neighborhood book room. The most fascinating part of this story is the fact that it was actually delivered to the neighborhood by an actual Bahro.

Everyone says “The bahro made this change or that change,” but this is the first time that people have actually had photographic evidence of this happening. I wish I could have been there for that event, but it still says something about the Cavern that there was no easy way for me to find out about the Barho’s pre-appearance and creation of the Arch Link, except by reading message boards, blogs, or actually visiting the Cavern. Being away for so long, I didn’t want to read any message boards or blogs because I didn’t want anyone to spoil solutions or revelations.

Now, a month later, I feel lost again. Things are the same, but things are different. Apparently Sharper is back. He’s doing his thing, accessing parts of Ages that regular explorers can’t (ever) reach. And I suppose we’re supposed to fall in line and make him a leader again? I’ll keep news of him on my periphery. Until his actions directly affect events in the cavern, he’s just a nice news story right now. The Bahro appearances are fascinating to me, but I don’t see them happening often.

The biggest issue I have right now is there are new links, etc. but nothing actually seems to make much of a difference. There’s not a payoff for finding them. Top of Kadish’s pyramid? Great! no special level, switch, or even Relto Page up there: What’s the point?

Maybe I’m missing something, but the Museum Ages don’t seem to do much of anything. I turn the pod on, I can press the buttons and get sounds or lights, but there’s no indication that anything I do actually affects the environment.

Ever get that feeling that everybody’s going to a party and nobody told you about it? Yeah, that’s how I feel right now.

~ by Kestr'l on March 27, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
